essentials | abeego beeswax food wraps

I’ve spent a lot of time this year thinking about how to create a minimal-waste household. In particular, I’ve focused on incorporating more reuseable, biodegradable, and ethical products into my kitchen – the heart of my home. I spend the most time here, and subsequently, produce the most trash here as well.

One common kitchen item that I have always abhorred is cling film – that awful, tangly, plasticky stuff that my Uncle Mario refers to as “strech-and-swear”, which is neither environmentally or user-friendly.

But without it, my cheese would get hard in the fridge, my half-eaten fruits would perish, and my sandwiches would be dry as sawdust by lunchtime. What a conundrum!

Enter Abeego – the reuseable, breathable, (CANADIAN 🇨🇦!) beeswax food wrap.

Abeego have, in one fell swoop, made cling film obsolete in my household.


These little beeswax-coated squares are self-adhesive so you can just use the pressure and warmth from your hands to shape and mold the wraps over/around your food – plus they come in several different sizes for ease of use.

Abeego founder, Toni, explains how she invented her remarkable wraps on two founding principles:

Firstly, it’s logical. It breathes. If living food needed to be wrapped in airtight wrap the rind, peel or skin would be airtight. It’s not. Secondly, it’s inspirational. It looks good, feels good, smells good and fosters a healthier relationship with food.

 

Sustainable

Sustainability is at the forefront of Abeego’s mandate, so their wraps are all-natural, zero-waste, durable, and use minimal energy in their production. You can learn more about Abeego’s sustainability policy here – it’s all pretty amazing, if you ask me!

Practical

Wrap, rinse with cold water (and biodegradable dish soap if necessary), air or towel dry, and reuse. It’s that simple. Just be sure to avoid using hot water to prolong the life of your Abeego – more on “how to use” here.

My experience

First of all, Abeego’s customer service was amazing. Toni was helpful, genuine, and enthusiastic, and sent me a 3-pack of variety wraps to test and review.

The pack contained one small (18cm x 18cm), one medium (25cm by 25cm), and one large (33 x 33cm) wrap.  Six weeks after incorporating Abeego into my kitchen essentials, here’s my experience and overall verdict:

 

  • I’ve used these every day. Mainly for avocados, onions, lemons (it seems I always eat these in halves), cheese, and bowls of berries and soft fruit.

 

  • I ended up using mine primarily to keep things fresh in the fridge rather than as on-the-go food wrappers (mainly because I work from home and tend to take my bento box if I’m out for the day or going to play a gig), but I did use them a few times to transport homemade cookies, which worked fine!

 

  • The design is simple, neutral, elegant, and beautiful.

 

  • I was initially concerned that the beeswax (which has a lovely subtle smell) would impart flavour on my food – this was absolutely not the case.

 

  • They ACTUALLY WORK. These keep food fresh far longer than cling film (or no wrap). My avocados and onions lasted forever.

 

  • I accidentally forgot a red onion in the back of my fridge for about a week. When I removed the wrapper I noticed that it smelled really strongly of the onion. I was afraid that I’d ruined my Abeego and that it would stink forever. Fortunately, after a quick wash in some cold water, the smell went away completely, and the lovely beeswax scent reappeared. Winning!

 

  • It’s worth mentioning that these wraps will stain (or develop a “patina”, according to Abeego) if exposed to foods containing strong natural pigments (think beetroot, turmeric, or in my case, leftover lasagna)! this doesn’t affect their usefulness or hygiene at all, they just look a little more lived in. It’s important not to scrub these stains with hot water as it will remove the beeswax coating. Just roll with it!

    img_7564
    After using my wrap to cover some lasagna my wrap became a little stained – but that’s completely normal and natural, so don’t worry!

 

  • I need MORE.  Toni did suggest that one pack of Abeego is never enough, and I should have listened. Still, I was being cautious and wanted to make sure that I liked the product before jumping in and filling my kitchen with them. I’m definitely going to order a 6-pack of small wraps, since I seemed to use these most often. And probably another variety pack, and maybe even a giant one.

 

It’s pretty obvious that I love these wraps, and that they have found a place on my essentials list. And my Christmas list!

The great news is that you can now buy Abeego in Canada/USA and in the UK!

This is one of my favourite products this year, and in addition to buying more for myself, I’ll be stuffing them into the stockings of loved ones.

You can head over to Abeego.com  for more info, and check out their Instagram feed for more creative ways to use Abeego beeswax wraps.

Buy Abeego in Canada/USA
Buy Abeego in UK/Europe

 

Ashley

Abeego provided us with a free variety pack of wraps in exchange for a fair and honest review. We will only ever recommend/promote products that we genuinely love!

Leave a comment